People, relationships and me

It seems obvious when said, but during the holidays, I observed many people and their relationships with each other. And from those observations of people in relationships, I realised just how much people are different in their likes, causes of annoyance and their values.

There are people joined in their love for something; a hobby, say. Some are joined in their merry outlook on life. There were times when I marveled at the fact that one person could stand what I saw as some fault in the partner.

I guess that’s a good thing, or we’ll all be running after a particular type of person. This difference is what brings individuality to the world and that special uniqueness to relationships.

It was not long before I remembered to pull back  from this third person perspective of other people – I am no different in that I am a person interacting with other people too. But what makes me different to other people? What is it about me that might attract one person but push away another?

I don’t know yet. Perhaps I never will fully know. But I think it won’t hurt to attempt beginning an exploration of who I am and what I value the most this year.

Leave a Reply

